City Winery, NYC

Make your own wine at City Winery

Make your own wine at City Winery

I don’t know where to start on this one. Should it be last night’s amazing tasting and pairing of Long Island’s Channing Daughters and their amazing wines with NYC staple Murray’s Cheeses? Meeting yet another winemaker and head cheese, so to speak, while they were hosting and and sharing stories and answering questions over amazing olfactory and gastronomical pleasures? Should it be the restaurant and tasting room where I bought some of their wines made on site, or viewing the large barrel room and vinification room complete with the obligatory steel tanks, de-stemmers and sorting tables where they were made and aged? Perhaps the winemaking classes where you can meet with their winemaker, pick your source of juice and blend and age your own private label wine with their on-site winemakers? (my friends, this is going to happen, I promise) Or maybe the first-class music venue. And all of this in the heart of New York City. I was blown away on so many levels. Joining their premium membership not only gets me perks on wine events, but advanced presales on concerts. Double bonus.

Winemaking room, City Winery NYC

Winemaking room, City Winery NYC

I still don’t really know what to do but fill out the forms to start making my own wines and think about how to tell you about the great wines I tasted from Channing Daughters.

Can I defer ? — I’ve got some thinking to do but I wanted to share my excitement while it was fresh.  In the meantime, will you check this place out — you really must. There’s one in Chicago too. http://www.citywinery.com/

Leave a Reply

