Favorites of 2012

Ravines 2010 Cabernet Franc

Ravines 2010 Cabernet Franc

Happy new year!  I am looking forward to another great year in wine. I was thinking over the last week or two about how I wanted to wrap up the inaugural year of this blog. I can do a wrap-up of all my favorite wines of the year, as many do. But I’ve already written about them in detail on this blog, so that would just be repetitive. So I will tell you about a few more that I really enjoyed over the holidays, and then will link you back to my other favorites I reviewed this year…

Cabernet Franc and I met for the first time in 2012. It quickly became one of my favorite wines, and I will kick things off with a few I’m fond of.

Ravines 2010 Cabernet Franc (Finger Lakes) was something I found in our new wine mega-store (I have to admit they have an impressive inventory including many fine wines now on my wish list).  They have a nice selection of local wines including Finger Lakes, North Fork, Hudson Valley and Connecticut wines. I wanted to try a Finger Lakes red, as I will be experimenting with making one of my own, and I don’t think I’ve had one yet. It was a really nice wine. It had a nice bright ruby color and the nose was enticingly smoky and spicy and bursting with red and black berry aromas. The tannins were soft and the acidity was bright but nicely balanced with the tannins and body. A lingering spicy fruit finish made this a new favorite.

Bedell 2011 Cabernet Franc

This was one of those Cab Francs I had for the first time in March on my inaugural North Fork visit that made me fall in love with the variety.  It was a ruby color of medium intensity. On the nose were blackberry and currant and a little ‘farmyard’. The palette echoed the rich black fruit and currant, with the addition of a spicy earthy flavor. The body and finish were about a medium.

Château Doisy-Védrines Sauternes

Château Doisy-Védrines Sauternes

I also grew quickly fond of fine Sauternes. Usually I don’t have a major sweet tooth (unless peanut butter is involved) but the quality of this wine is so high that its really hard not to enjoy it. I had the amazing Château Suduiraut 2005 Sauternes at Château Pichon Longueville in Bordeaux in October, and another from our range over thanksgiving that was very nice. But I picked up one at the wine shop that day for Christmas that was delicious.

Château Doisy-Vedrines 2009 is a nice example of Sauternes. It was in the $25 range for a half-bottle, which is average for this wine.  The body was nice and round, and the sweetness was pronounced as expected yet not cloying and overly sweet. Everything was nicely balanced and I enjoyed it over a few occasions last week, in most cases as a luxurious nightcap. Also, I can’t really have more than one a day, as its too much sweetness for me (well except for Château Suduiraut)  and this is not a table wine . One wants to take their time to enjoy sipping this one.


Some other 2012 Favorites from this year in my blog:

Paumanok Cabernet Sauvignon 2005

Paumanok Assemblage 2007

One Woman Vineyards Gruner Veltliner

Château Pichon-Longueville Pauillac 2009/2010 and Château Suduiraut Sauternes 2005

Land of Nod Chocolate Raspberry dessert wine

Bodegas Carrau Tannat 2000, Font de la Figuera Priorat 2008

Lenz Blanc de Noir 2008

Bedell First Crush (red) 2010

Hope your holidays were joyful, and here’s to 2013!

Leave a Reply

