Paumanok Cabernet Sauvignon 2005

Paumanok Cabernet Sauvignon 2005

Paumanok Cabernet Sauvignon 2005

In my continuing mission to cover my memorable trip to the north fork of Long Island, tonight I am reviewing another gem from Paumanok Vineyards. I brought home their 2005 Cabernet Sauvignon after a tasting flight there in March and saved it for a special occasion. Last weekend, we went to our friends’ barbecue at a rooftop cabana in Brooklyn, New York. Brooklyn rooftop cabana? I know, it was very cool. Stunning vistas of Brooklyn and lower Manhattan as a backdrop, and giant umbrellas and wicker and cloth cabana-style benches completed the picture, along with the company.  It was a great barbecue and I broke out the 2005 Cabernet to share with my friends. They too shared several great wines including an amazing rosé, also from the north fork as it turns out. And my sister-in-law brought a nice Australian Cab-Shiraz which was another excellent barbecue red.

My burger with melted Danish blue cheese was about as perfect a pairing as you could have with this nicely aged Paumanok Cab. As I mentioned earlier in the blog, there were only 351 cases made in this vintage. This one had the cork, perhaps preceding the screw caps so prevalent and close to the hearts of these winemakers today. Or maybe just to appease those who wouldn’t buy a 7 year old cab because it had the screw cap. The color was a deep ruby and on the nose there were distinct black fruit aromas of prunes and blackcurrant, as well as some subtle well-integrated oak.  On the palate the tannins were firm, and blackberry, black cherry, and oak and mild peppery flavors abounded.  It was incredibly supple and smooth, and the finish was long. This was a top wine, and as you would expect, it was practically bliss with that burger. Hopefully I’ll find this one closer to home like the Bedell, and if not I am planning to return not so long from now. I hope to make acquaintance with some new wines as well as pick up some of my new favorites.

2 responses to “Paumanok Cabernet Sauvignon 2005

  1. Pingback: Another visit to the North Fork, Part One | Wining Daily

  2. Pingback: Favorites of 2012 | Wining Daily

Leave a Reply

